Chamber recognizes legislators at State Delegation Appreciation Event

WRITTEN BY lclark 7 months ago

Read Time
  • 464 VISITS

Each year we gather to thank our elected legislators for their hard work over the past several months during the session in Columbia.

In January, the Chamber held the Legislative Reception, which kicks off the legislative session. At that point, with all of the uncertainty surrounding the VC Summer nuclear project, there was concern about if the legislature would be able to take up any other critical issues this session.

However, the General Assembly did tackle two priority items for the business community in our region and our state. Passage of the Nuisance Lawsuits Bill and the bill limiting an Automatic Stay were both major victories from the Chamber’s Legislative Agenda.

The Nuisance Bill protects existing manufacturing and industrial operations from expensive, frivolous lawsuits from encroaching development. This will help attract further investment in South Carolina’s communities and create jobs.

The Automatic Stay legislation means quicker completion timelines for major road, bridge and development projects in South Carolina, and is particularly important here in the Lowcountry.

There is more work to do before this year’s legislative session comes to an end. Chamber leaders urge our delegation to override Governor McMaster’s veto of the expungement bill – H.3209 –  which helps former nonviolent offenders who’ve paid their debt to society get back into the workforce and to keep the high impact incentive package in S.1043, which is currently in a conference committee and creates a new tool for economic developers to retain and recruit high wage, knowledge economy jobs in South Carolina. [Read More in The Advocates]

We are proud to recognize 22 of our state legislators who represent Berkeley, Charleston and Dorchester Counties with the 2018 Champions of Business award. These legislators always consider the business climate when they vote and  voted at least 75% for Chamber priority issues this year.

From the South Carolina Senate:

  • Senator Sean Bennett
  • Senator Paul Campbell
  • Senator Chip Campsen
  • Senator Stephen Goldfinch
  • Senator Larry Grooms
  • Senator Sandy Senn


From the South Carolina House of Representatives:

  • Representative Katie Arrington
  • Representative Lin Bennett
  • Representative Bill Crosby
  • Representative Joe Danning
  • Representative Sylleste Davis
  • Representative Wendell Gilliard
  • Representative Lee Hewitt
  • Representative Joe Jefferson
  • Representative Patsy Knight
  • Representative Nancy Mace
  • Representative David Mack
  • Representative Peter McCoy
  • Representative Chris Murphy
  • Representative Samuel Rivers
  • Representative Mike Sottile
  • Representative Leon Stavrinakis

Thanks to each of our legislators for working with the Charleston Metro Chamber on such significant issues and on a successful year. Their hard work and willingness to work together is moving our region forward.

The Chamber also extended well wishes to Representative Katie Arrington. She planned on attending the event, but as you know, she was severely injured in a terrible car accident on Friday night. The news from Representative Arrington’s family and campaign staff is that she’s going to be OK and we will continue to keep everyone involved in our thoughts.


Thank you to our State Delegation Appreciation Sponsors:

Presenting Sponsor:

Event Sponsors:

Host Sponsor:

Read Full Artice