Update: Local Governments Respond to COVID-19

Updated March 24, 2020

Following Governor McMaster’s declaration of a state of emergency last Friday and closure of all schools in the state on Sunday, local governments in the Charleston region have begun taking their own actions to respond to COVID-19.

City of Charleston – The city of Charleston remains at OPCON 2, with modified operations designed to limit in-person contact. All city permitted tours are suspended until further notice. The Charleston City Market and all other city of Charleston special facilities–Angel Oak, Cannon Street Arts Center, Dock Street Theatre, Maritime Center, Old Exchange Building and Old Slave Mart Museum–will be closed to the public.

Council will continue to meet daily at 5:30 p.m. by phone for updates.

Charleston Temporarily Lifts Plastic Ban

In order to ease supply chain issues and ensure safe food handling, the City of Charleston has suspended enforcement of its ban on single-use plastics for 60 days, lasting through May 5. This ordinance will cover every business and organization regardless of what they provide. 

City of North Charleston – All public meetings are cancelled. Events at the North Charleston Coliseum, Performing Arts Center, Convention Center and Riverfront Park are cancelled. In-person permitting and business licensing has been stopped and these services have moved to online-only. Those without internet access can access these services via a lobby kiosk.

Town of Mount Pleasant – Mayor Haynie amended his March 16 Emergency Proclamation by restricting public gatherings from 50 people to 10 or less

Town of Summerville – The Town will waive penalties for local hospitality and accommodations taxes due on March 20, 2020.

City of Goose Creek – All public meetings are cancelled through April 14. City Hall is closed to the public, but permit applications, business license payments and other essential services are accepted at the drive-thru window at City Hall.

City of Hanahan – All city buildings and facilities are closed to the public.  All business and court transactions can be done online via the City’s website or over the phone at 843.554.4221

Berkeley County – Berkeley County Council Declared a State of Emergency on Tuesday, March 17 at a special called Council Meeting and is currently in OPCON 2. Online services and payments are operating normally, however County buildings and facilities are closed to the public.

Charleston County – The Charleston County Auditor, Register of Deeds (ROD), and Treasurer will be closing their offices to the public beginning Thursday, March 19. All three offices will continue to be available by phone and email.

Dorchester County – Dorchester County Council declared a State of Emergency Monday, March 16, 2020 and is operating at OPCON 2. The declaration will remain in place until Monday, April 13, 2020, or until otherwise rescinded. County Administrative Offices will be closed to the public. All offices will be available by phone and email. Residents and businesses are encouraged to use online services. 

Back to Top

Government Relations

Update on the State Government's Response to COVID-19