Government Relations
Community Advancement
Join Now
Chamber News
Helen Hill Named 2023 Joseph P. Riley Leadership Award Recipient

The Chamber is pleased to announce that Helen Hill, President and CEO of Explore Charleston, will be honored with the prestigious Joseph P. Riley Leadership Award at The Honors on November 16. Through her years of leadership, Helen has proven to be an outstanding leader who is committed to making the community a better place to live, work and do business.

Named after one of the region’s most notable and popular leaders, the late father of former Mayor Joe Riley, the Joseph P. Riley award was initiated in 1992 by the Charleston Metro Chamber. This prestigious award recognizes an outstanding leader who has, through a lifetime of leadership, committed to making the community a better place to live, work and do business. The recipients of this award are dedicated to serving and strengthening the Charleston community.

For over 35 years, Hill has been at the forefront of promoting the region as a leisure and business destination. Under Hill’s leadership, Explore Charleston has developed industry-leading programs that have assisted the Charleston area in becoming one of the most acclaimed destinations in the country. Accolades include being voted Best City in the United States by the readers of Conde Nast Traveler for 12 of the last 13 years, as well as being named Top U.S. City by Travel + Leisure for 11 consecutive years.

For her record as a civic and community leader, commitment to the tourism industry and contributions to South Carolina’s economic development, Hill was awarded the Order of the Palmetto, the state’s highest civilian honor. Ms. Hill also received an honorary doctorate from the College of Charleston for her work in the community.

Hill will be celebrated for her lasting impact on our region at The Honors on November 16, preceding Member-Bration. The Chamber will also recognize other outstanding business leaders and organizations who are doing exceptional work in our region with Honors Awards.

Previous winners of the Joseph P. Riley Leadership Award include Jim Newsome (2022), Dr. David Cole (2021), Dr. Jairy C. Hunter (2019), Len Hutchison (2018), Perry Keith Waring (2017), W. Brian Moody (2016) and Thompson E. Penney (2015).

Posted on
October 24th 2023
Written by
Justin Allen